This discussion is archived
1 2 3 4 5 6 11 Previous Next 163 Replies Latest reply: Oct 22, 2009 3:23 PM by Hoek Go to original post RSS
  • 45. Re: Index rebuild
    108476 Journeyer
    Currently Being Moderated
    Hi Alan,
    all things in the database stay the same but through monitoring of indexes
    Do you have a script that you use to detect index rebuilding candidates?
    we do see an improvement is performance when indexes are rebuilt.
    Do you worry about accidentally rebuilding an index that might not need it?

Do you rebuuild them all on a scheduled cron?
    I am no great expert on the intracacies of the internals of the database
    Oracle is a large computer program, written by people.

It follows no laws of nature, and many people see no benefit to ripping into the internals of a man-made program. . . .

It's easier for me to open an SR and have them look at the source code!
  • 46. Re: Index rebuild
    108476 Journeyer
    Hi Alan,
    The model for assessing whether an index needs to be rebuilt is some complicated mathematical equation which an ex colleague created.
    Great!
    From experience this has always proved to be correct over a wide range of databases.
    That's how good scripts are created, it's a process of successive refinement and empirical testing.

Is it possible to share this script?
  • 47. Re: Index rebuild
    108476 Journeyer
    Hi Marcin,
    I think that this is a technical forum and I can't understand why to mix religion with technology.
    Me neither!

That's why I found the Jonathan Lewis athiest quote to be so offensive.

He tends to do thing like this when he gets backed into a corner, nobody understands why . . .

But yeah, people don't like being called gullible fools just because they believe in things that cannot be proven
    So why test case are useless ?
    1 - Because they cannot be generalized effectively - exceptions exist