This discussion is archived
1 7 8 9 10 11 Previous Next 163 Replies Latest reply: Oct 22, 2009 3:23 PM by Hoek Go to original post RSS
  • 150. Re: Index rebuild
    6363 Guru
    Currently Being Moderated
    If you want to believe the majority of Oracle behavior is random and cannot be reproduced and if you face issues the best you can do is pay someone who says "Trust me. I am an expert" without question then fine.

Most of us can do better.
  • 151. Re: Index rebuild
    706417 Explorer
    I don't want anyone to believe that, silly! I would welcome the acceptance by most that Oracle is just software. Is it so hard to divorce the reality of being a DBA/Developer from the fanatsy of being a scientist? No, it isn't. So chin up, shoulders back, swallow those hot, stinging tears of disappointment and rebuild that index! There, feels better already, doesn't it?

Love - Don Lewis
  • 152. Re: Index rebuild
    6363 Guru
    Don Lewis wrote:
    I don't want anyone to believe that, silly! I would welcome the acceptance by most that Oracle is just software.
    That isn't what I said.
    If you want to believe the majority of Oracle behavior is random and cannot be reproduced
    Whereas I know the majority of Oracle behavior is consistent and can be reproduced.
    Is it so hard to divorce the reality of being a DBA/Developer from the fanatsy of being a scientist?
    I really don't care how you want to twist and label it, the majority of Oracle behavior is consistent and can be reproduced.
    No, it isn't. So chin up, shoulders back, swallow those hot, stinging tears of disappointment and rebuild that index!
    No because it doesn't disappoint me and it is more than likely not needed and a waste of effort.

http://richardfoote.files.wordpress.com/2007/12/index-internals-rebuilding-the-truth.pdf

Can you not run the examples?

If you can run any of the examples in the presentation do you get the same results or not?