5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2010 10:15 AM by MRoche RSS

Creating a workspace via a trigger?

MRoche
      Hi All

I am new to using Workspace Manager and Oracle in general within a development environment and I am working on a development where multiple workspaces need to be created whenever a developer wants to make a change to the database via a Java application.

My ultimate goal is for a workspace to be created before an update is made.
      Can this be done in the form of a trigger that will version enable the tables, sets a workspace name (possibly using the developers OS username and date) and then upon committing the changes disable versioning tables (or will this part form part of an After Update trigger)?

Alternatively could this be done using a PL/SQL Package or is this not a very wise thing to do at all?

Regards

Mark
        • 1. Re: Creating a workspace via a trigger?
          Hi Mark

Let me try to explain a normal usage of OWM.

One main workspace (its actually called LIVE) which is your ROOT and contains the actually committed data.

Now in OWM if you wished you could create several users and each user can have their own workspace , usually they would be working with data, changing it and seeing what change has done to their model of some kind.
          Let's say at the end of the day they are told to merge their changes to root (live workspace), there is a command for that.

OWM also supports resolving conflicts if the same data has been changed within two or more workspaces, but that's another topic.

You see i have described its ideal usage.

In your case it seems that you want to encapsulate a whole set of changes within "temporary" workspace.

What might be best is not use OWM for this at all but use savepoints.
          You can use either OWM savepoints or normal Oracle RDBMS savepoints that live within a session (transaction).

Example:

I login ; create savepoints