1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Mar 19, 2012 7:28 PM by 924945

Oracle 11g R2 installation problem

user12965230
      Hi

I am having problems installing Oracle 11g R2 64 bit on my windows machine. The installer launches and I manage to get past the first 2 steps. When I select the system class in step 3 the installation windows just disappears.

I am currently running Window 7 Professional 64 bit.

I am a newbie so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Oracle 11g R2 installation problem
          Satish Kandi
          Are there any clues in the installation log in oraInventory folder?
          • 2. Re: Oracle 11g R2 installation problem
            user12965230
            I don't think it installed any files. I tried searching for the oraInventory folder but I don't think it was created.

I tried selecting server class for in Step 3 instead of Desktop class. It allowed me to continue up to step 5. At step 5 it asks me for the install type. If I choose Typical install it just exits out of the installation like earlier it does when choosing desktop class in step 3. If I choose Advanced install it lets me complete the entire installation.

I am just learning about oracle so I highly doubt the advanced install is right for me. The sample schemas like hr also don't seem to be available. If I can just get the schemas installed, I will probably be set.

Thanks
            • 3. Re: Oracle 11g R2 installation problem
              Srini Chavali-Oracle
              Pl specify the link you downloaded the software from. The install log should record any errors.

http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/E11882_01/install.112/e10843/ts.htm#BABFDJDB

HTH
              Srini
              • 4. Re: Oracle 11g R2 installation problem
                user10310842