11 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2011 2:31 PM by PktAces

JDE Type-3 JDBC driver performace issues (Interoperability)

Hi All,

We have a scenario where we need to read the enterprise data (JDE E1 (9.0)) from other java application.
      We thought of reading JDE E1 data from Java Application using Using Java Database Connectivity Driver (e1jdbc.jar) as described in Interoperability guide.

However, We are about to discard this idea because one of the JDE E1 installation engineer suggested we could face serious of performance issue with TYPE 3 driver suggested in Connectivity guide.

I would like to know if anyone in this forum experienced serious performance issues with Type 3 JDE JDBC driver.

As a experienced Java programmer, I'm sure Type-3 drivers gives great flexibility and not bad from performance perspective as well. However I'm not much experienced with JDE E1 so forum suggestions/inputs are very much appreciated.

NOTE :: Both applications are (JDE and Java Applcaiton) still under development stage ( 5 more months to go on Production ).

Best Regards
      Muni
        • 1. Re: JDE Type-3 JDBC driver performace issues (Interoperability)
          DaveHarrison
          Have you considered the Type 4 driver, e1dadriver.jar, that was introduced in Tools Release 8.98.1? This driver accesses the database directly, and might therefore offer better performance than the Type 3 driver that accesses the data via a middleware Data Access Server.

See https://support.oracle.com/CSP/main/article?cmd=show&id=814163.1&type=NOT for more information.

Dave
          1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: JDE Type-3 JDBC driver performace issues (Interoperability)
            Hi Dave,

Thank you for the inputs.I am not aware of e1dadriver.jar_ as Type-4 driver is not mentioned in Interoperability guide (8.98). Will check with Type-4 driver soon.

Best Regards
            • 3. Re: JDE Type-3 JDBC driver performace issues (Interoperability)
              Hi Dave,