This discussion is archived
3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 22, 2010 10:19 AM by 571043 RSS

Thumbnail advice

588697 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Background:

1. I'm new to Oracle Multimedia but am an experienced PL/SQL developer.
2. Database is 11gR2 SE1 on RHEL.
3. Images are stored as ORDImage objects.

I have a set of about 3000 product images from different manufacturers. The images vary widely in size.

I have a (no doubt common) requirement to display thumbnails of these images on a web page; when the thumbnail is clicked, the user is taken to the product page where a larger, but not full-size, version of the product image is displayed; if the user clicks on the product image, a shadowbox overlay will display the largest version of the image.

An additional requirement is that the thumbnails and product page images are all sized consistently. For example, all thumbnails must be 100 x 100px and all product page images must be 400 x 400px (I'm pulling these numbers out of the air, the actual sizes will be determined later). Side note: The full-size image will be scaled to a maximum size (to-be-determined) but it does not have to be consistent because the shadowbox tool sizes the image correctly based on the browser window size.

For example:

Source image A is 1000 x 600. I need to create a thumbnail that is 100 x 100 and a product page image that is 400 x 400 while maintaining the 1:6 aspect ratio of the source image

Source image B is 800 x 500. Again, I need to create a thumbnail that is 100 x 100 and a product page image that is 400 x 400 while maintaining the 8:5 aspect ratio of the source image.

Source image C is 300 x 400. Again (surprise!), I need to create a thumbnail that is 100 x 100 and a product page image that is 400 x 400 while maintaining the 3:4 aspect ratio of the source image.