This discussion is archived
5 Replies Latest reply: Jun 21, 2010 1:16 AM by EJP RSS

Some basic serialization questions

843790 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to serialization. I read some online introductions and got the very basics, but I have a couple of questions (which are still quite basic).

1. I have a few instances of the same class X. One of the fields of the class is a reference to an instance of another class Y. All X instances point to the same instance of Y at run time. I want to dump them all, and maintain that relation when later retrieving them. What happens if I dump each instance of X separately? What is the correct and efficient way of achieving what I want?

2. Is it possible to visualize the serialized object, that is, dump it to some human-readable format (something like Data::Dumper in perl)?

Thank you,
David
  • 1. Re: Some basic serialization questions
    EJP Guru
    1. I have a few instances of the same class X. One of the fields of the class is a reference to an instance of another class Y. All X instances point to the same instance of Y at run time. I want to dump them all, and maintain that relation when later retrieving them. What happens if I dump each instance of X separately?
    The subsequent instances of X will all point to the Y instance that was deserialized along with the first X. In general, object graphs are preserved.
    What is the correct and efficient way of achieving what I want?
    It works as you want by default.
    2. Is it possible to visualize the serialized object, that is, dump it to some human-readable format (something like Data::Dumper in perl)?
    java.beans.XMLEncoder.
  • 2. Re: Some basic serialization questions
    843790 Newbie
    Thank you!
  • 3. Re: Some basic serialization questions
    EJP Guru
    In general, object graphs are presented.
    Whoops! In general, object graphs are preserved.
  • 4. Re: Some basic serialization questions
    843790 Newbie