This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 9, 2010 11:24 AM by DrClap RSS

Reflection in Servlets

843798 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello All,

I am trying to load a class which is a Servlet class inside a webapp using URL Class Loader from another webapp. I got exception while loading the class. I think Tomcat is imposing a security mechanism to that does not allows to load a class from one webapp to another webapp. I would like to confirm this point whether Tomcat is imposing such security mechanism or not.

Also, I read about cross context access in Tomcat. As I am very new to Tomcat 6, I would be very thankful if somebody gives me a clue on this.

Sample code to load a class in a servlet
try{
                       //Loading a class using URLClassLoader
               File file = new File("/home/comm/tomcat6/webapps/myWebApp/WEB-INF/classes/");
               URL url = file.toURI().toURL(); 
               URL[] urls = new URL[] { url };
               ClassLoader cl = new URLClassLoader(urls);
               Class cls = cl.loadClass("com.servletImpl.MyServlet");//getting error at this line
               Class TempClass = Class.forName("com.servletImpl.MyServlet", true, cl);
               Package pack = TempClass.getPackage();
               Method[] procs = TempClass.getDeclaredMethods();
               System.out.println("Name is  : " + pack.getName());
               for(int i =0; i < procs.length; i++)
               {
                    System.out.println("Name is  : " + procs.getName());
               }
               //invoking method in the loaded class
          Method tempMethod = TempClass.getMethod("sendMessage", new Class[]{String.class, String.class});
               tempMethod.invoke(null, new Object[]{ID, message});
          }catch(Exception e){
               System.out.println("Exception");
               e.printStackTrace();
          }

• 1. Re: Reflection in Servlets
    EJP Guru