This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Jul 8, 2010 4:41 PM by jschellSomeoneStoleMyAlias RSS

How to create an app that lists/monitors current batch (.cmd) jobs running

843798 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello,

Hoping someone can point me into the right direction/technology/approach.

The requirement is to create a status window/interface that
- lists available batch (.cmd) jobs
- ability to select a batch script to run
- gives a summary of currently running batches

Additional info: .cmd files call Essbase calculations that takes a while to process (10-20 minutes)

Because I'm a Java Developer, I've been asked to write a java app to do this. I'm not sure, that Java is the right technology. I'm not sure where to start so any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,
  • 1. Re: How to create an app that lists/monitors current batch (.cmd) jobs running
    843798 Newbie
    - lists available batch (.cmd) jobs
    If you know where they are located in the file system then File.listFiles()
    - ability to select a batch script to run
    You can run it by creating java.lang.Process and keeping it somewhere. AFAIR you have to execute "cmd /c yourbatch.cmd" under Windows.
    - gives a summary of currently running batches
    As you keep all the Processes you have started, you can periodically check if a Process has ended (Process.exitValue()) .
    Remember also to "swallow" processes' output streams (Process.getOutputStream()) otherwise, the process will hang if it's output buffer gets filled.
    Reading the process output stream may be benefitial because you can display the process progress to the user (if any is printed at all).
  • 2. Re: How to create an app that lists/monitors current batch (.cmd) jobs running
    843798 Newbie
    Thanks Adam. That is a really useful reply.

When you say periodically check for if a Proces has ended. Do you mean having a Thread that wakes up once in a while to check?