10 Replies Latest reply: Sep 21, 2009 8:56 AM by 791266 RSS

Tutorial required for annotation

can any one suggest a good tutorial for annotation as i am new to annotation.

thanks in advance
        • 1. Re: Tutorial required for annotation
          can any one suggest a good tutorial for annotation as
          i am new to annotation.
          If you are using JDK 5, the apt getting started guide can be found here:

http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.5.0/docs/guide/apt/index.html
          • 2. Re: Tutorial required for annotation
            I do not know of one, that explains the ins and outs, but if you find an example Annotation that modifies source code, let me know!
            Todd_Musheno@yahoo.com
            • 3. Re: Tutorial required for annotation
              but if you find an example Annotation that modifies
              source code, let me know!
              You won't.

Annotation Processing with APT or a JSR269 tool does not permit you to modify source code. You can generate new source files but not modify existing ones.

Bruce
              • 4. Re: Tutorial required for annotation
                This is not the case see: http://java.sun.com/javaee/5/docs/api/javax/ejb/Stateful.html
                If this were the case there would be NO implmentation of the persistance, yet it would still work!
                The questions was targeted at the implementation of such a (specific) mechinisum. Please not the annotation does not define HOW data is to be persisted, just that it should be (We are looking for an example on HOW we generate code that does the actual work).
                Todd_Musheno@yahoo.com
                • 5. Re: Tutorial required for annotation
                  This is not the case see:
                  http://java.sun.com/javaee/5/docs/api/javax/ejb/Statef
                  ul.html
                  That page does not change my view that APT and JSR269 do not provide a mechanism to modify existing code.