6 Replies Latest reply: Dec 21, 2007 12:50 PM by 807601 RSS

Java runtime issuses NoClassDefFoundError

I am new to java. So to learn how to use java I have been going through the learning trails. The trail I am currently reading is: Creating a GUI with JFC/Swing. I having problems complying and running one of the first examples: HelloWorldSwing.java. -----

After it complies I get this error:

C:\JAVA>java HelloWorldSwing
      Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: HelloWorldSwing (wrong name: start/HelloWorldSwing)
      at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
      at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
      at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
      at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
      at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(Unknown Source)
      at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
      at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
      at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
      at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
      at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
      at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
      at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)

Any help in getting this code to run would be appreciated.
        • 1. Re: Java runtime issuses NoClassDefFoundError
          Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: HelloWorldSwing (wrong name: start/HelloWorldSwing)
          So does your class belong to the "start" package? As in, did you do this at the top of your source file:
          package start;
          If so, then your class name is start.HelloWorldSwing , not just HelloWorldSwing. So tell the VM to run that class name. Also you'll need to ensure it is compiled in the right directory matching the package name.
          • 2. Re: Java runtime issuses NoClassDefFoundError
            Thanks warnerja