13 Replies Latest reply: Aug 7, 2010 12:55 PM by 843789 RSS

Need help with String Count

Hi Everybody, I'm fairly new here and need help. I'm not that good with in depth coding with Java. I can do simple code though. I've compiled a code that opens a file but I don't understand how to get it to count how many Strings are the selected file. I tried using (Whitespace + 1) to search the whitespaces of the file and add 1 to give me the number of Strings but it didn't get the number from the selected file. Here's my code:
      import java.io.*;
      import java.util.Scanner;

public class WordCountAttempt
      {
           public static void main(String[] args) throws IOException
           {
                char[] array;
                Scanner inputFile;
                int whitespaces = 0;

Scanner kb = new Scanner(System.in);
                System.out.println("Enter a Filename");
                String filename = kb.nextLine();
                File file = new File(filename);
                inputFile = new Scanner(file);

array = filename.toCharArray();

while(inputFile.hasNext())
                {
                     String words = inputFile.nextLine();
                     System.out.println(words);
                }

for (int i = 0; i < array.length; i++)
                {
                     if (Character.isWhitespace(array))
                          whitespaces++;
                }

System.out.println("The file " + filename + " contains " + (whitespaces + 1) + " String(s).");
           }
      }
      Can anybody (Besides Melanie Green) show me where I went wrong and explain what I could've done to fix it?