10 Replies Latest reply: Apr 23, 2010 4:40 AM by 843789 RSS

Streaming an image file (and rendering simultaneously)

Hi, my first post here. I'm new to Java gui. I am trying to create an applet that loads a big image file (>10000kb) from a url and simultaneously paints it on the screen bit by bit (before it is entirely loaded). In other words, the effect I want is the same as when loading a huge image file from a browser by which the image is rendered line by line. I would appreciate any help regarding this issue and where I shall start looking at
        • 1. Re: Streaming an image file (and rendering simultaneously)
          You need a decoder for the file format that you are going to support--one that you can run each buffer full of data through and decode--so you can dispaly it in image object.

You have to create the entire image object, then paint in each sequential block of data you fetch from your stream.
          • 2. Re: Streaming an image file (and rendering simultaneously)
            Thanks for you reply. Although I still I don't have any idea of what to do i'll start by searching some keywords that you mentioned. Should someone feels like eleborating in more simpler terms, I would appreciate the extra help.
            • 3. Re: Streaming an image file (and rendering simultaneously)
              I am dealing with JPEG images. It seems that what I'm trying to achieve in the manner you explained is impossible to carry out as JAVA's built-in JPEG decoder can't decode images progressively. I trid to find some opensource decoder but had no luck yet
              • 4. Re: Streaming an image file (and rendering simultaneously)
                Did you even read the post I made in your cross-post here? [http://www.java-forums.org/new-java/28016-streaming-image-byte-byte-similtaneosly-rendering-screen.html]

Did you look at the link I provided? It's quite detailed and useful. Also acknowledging a post can actually encourage folks to help you more.