1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply on Oct 13, 2009 3:24 PM by 3004 Go to original post
      • 15. Re: Parsing a date error.help with small program
        Implode wrote:
        I tried this, but I guess it doesnt check if the values fit into day month year

pattern = Pattern.compile("\\d{2}\\d{2}\\d{2}");

But i still get an array out of bounds error
        There's no way to know why you get that error when all you show is that pattern.

As mentioned before: Provide an SSCCE. Include the exact, complete error message and indicate clearly exactly which line is causing it.
        • 16. Re: Parsing a date error.help with small program
          Implode wrote:
          Our posts are crossing.

:(

I have looked at all methods mentioned by members on this topic, but Im new to this and have no idea how to validate using simpleDateFormat.
          [http://www.google.com/search?q=java+simpledateformat+example]
          So maybe it is better to use try and catch after every token from the split string?
          I have no idea what you're talking about.
          But how could I tell the method that if an exception is found add the line to errorLine array, if no catch found then add to goodLine array?
          try {
            do something
            good.add(something)
          }
          catch (...) {
            errors.add(something);
          }
          try {
           do something else
            good.add(something else)
          }
          catch (...) {
            errors.add(something else);
          }
          • 17. Re: Parsing a date error.help with small program
            This is where the error is
                        String[] newToken = line.split("#");

pattern = Pattern.compile("ISBN\\x20(?=.{13}$)\\d{1,5}([- ])\\d{1,7}\\1\\d{1,6}\\1(\\d|X)$");
                        Matcher matchIsbn = pattern.matcher(newToken[0]);
                        pattern = Pattern.compile("[\\d]+");