This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Apr 11, 2009 10:36 PM by 800308 RSS

Having problems with the decimal  format

843789 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I am have problems getting my program to show the amount in the decimal format. I am new to these and have been correcting and try to get it all day. Can someone help me?

import java.awt.*;
import javax.swing.*;
import java.awt.event.ActionEvent;
import java.awt.event.ActionListener;
import java.text.DecimalFormat;

/* Diana Saddler
 * PRG-421  Java Programming II
 */

public class mortgage extends JFrame implements ActionListener {
private JPanel panelAdder;
private JLabel labela;
private JLabel labelt;
private JLabel labelr;
private JTextField textFieldAmount;
private JTextField textFieldTerm;
private JTextField textFieldRate;
private JTextField textFieldResult;
private JButton buttonCalc;

public mortgage() {
  initComponents();
  setDefaultCloseOperation(JFrame.EXIT_ON_CLOSE);
  setVisible(true);
  pack();

// Add Listeners
  buttonCalc.addActionListener(this);
}

public void initComponents() {

//Initialize Components
 panelAdder = new JPanel();
 labela = new JLabel("Amount");
 textFieldAmount = new JTextField();
 labelt = new JLabel("Term");
 textFieldTerm = new JTextField();
 labelr = new JLabel("Rate");
 textFieldRate = new JTextField();
 textFieldResult = new JTextField();
 buttonCalc = new JButton("Calculate");

//Set Object Attributes
 textFieldResult.setEditable(false);
 textFieldResult.setColumns(8);
 textFieldAmount.setColumns(6);
 textFieldTerm.setColumns(3);
 textFieldRate.setColumns(3);

Container contentPane = getContentPane();
 contentPane.setLayout(new FlowLayout());

//Add the components to the panel
 panelAdder.add(labela);
 panelAdder.add(textFieldAmount);
 panelAdder.add(labelt);
 panelAdder.add(textFieldTerm);
 panelAdder.add(labelr);
 panelAdder.add(textFieldRate);
 panelAdder.add(buttonCalc);
 panelAdder.add(textFieldResult);

contentPane.add(panelAdder);
}