4 Replies Latest reply: Dec 19, 2008 6:40 AM by 843785 RSS

Compiling programs in different directories (packages)

I'm studying Java from the book, Java: A Beginner's Guide Fourth Edition. I've come across a hurdle regarding compiling programs where classes are called from other files (packages). I can compile without error a file that doesn't include 'main()' which resides in it's own directory, "BookPack". I can't compile the second file which contains the 'main()' function. This file residing in another directory by the same name as it's package, "BookPackB". The error reported is "..... package BookPack.Book(..." does not exist.

For completeness here are the two files (page 308 from the book).
      // Book recoded for public access.
      package BookPack;
      public class Book {
        private String title;
        private String author;
        private int pubDate;
        // Now public.
        public Book(String t, String a, int d) {
          title = t;
          author = a;
          pubDate = d;
        // Now, public.
        public void show() {
      // This class is in package BookPackB
      package BookPackB;
      // Use the Book Class from BookPack.
      class UseBook {
        public static void main(String args[]) {
          BookPack.Book books[] = new BookPack.Book[5];
          books[0] = new BookPack.Book("Java: A Beginner's Guide", "Schildt", 2007);
          books[1] = new BookPack.Book("Java: The Complete Reference", "Schildt", 2007);
          books[2] = new BookPack.Book("The Art of Java", "Schildt and Holmes", 2003);
          books[3] = new BookPack.Book("Red Storm Rising", "Clancy", 1986);
          books[4] = new BookPack.Book("On the Road", "Kerouac", 1955);
          for(int i=0; i<books.length; i++) books.show();
      I would appreciate some simple guidance in the steps to compile the above files.
        • 1. Re: Compiling programs in different directories (packages)