13 Replies Latest reply: Oct 30, 2008 5:32 AM by 843785 RSS

java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: main

Sometimes i got this error when working

--------------------Configuration: <Default>--------------------
      java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: main
      Exception in thread "main"
      Process completed.

I have worked with containers for some time (i am still learning) and now i work with exceptions. I have looked over other posts but found nothing interesting.
      This is the code:

public class Solar{
      public void f() throws SolarException{
      System.out.println("Throw SolarException from Solar.");
      throw new SolarException();
      }
      public static void main(String[] args){
      Solar solar = new Solar();
      try{
      solar.f();
      } catch(SolarException se){
      System.out.println("Caught it!");
      }
      }
      }
      class SolarException extends Exception{
      }

Now, i now a solution from before, change "public static void main(String[] args)" line into "public static void main(java.lang.String[] args)"and it works.
      I do not have any clue why this is happening. CLASSPATH is set. The editor i use is JCreator, and CLASSPATH is set under Configure->Options->JDK Profiles.
      So any idea why is this happening. Also the class name is Solar.

Also putting:

import java.lang.String;

eliminates the problem, but i did not have to use this earlier.

And one more thing: on previous version of JCreator when i got this message, i just scrolled main method to be visible on the screen, marked it with mouse and it worked. Belive me! I know it is stupid, i myself couldnt belive it.

Edited by: Martin.Berger on Oct 29, 2008 4:07 PM
        • 1. Re: java.lang.NoSuchMethodError: main
          It sounds like you have some kind of config problem with JCreator. I tried your code in both Eclipse, and SciTE and got the following:
          SciTE:
          Throw SolarException from Solar.
          Caught it!
          Eclipse: