11 Replies Latest reply: Apr 26, 2010 2:30 AM by 793415 RSS

Java 3D and Security

I'm new to Java 3D, and I see that Java3D installs native code libraries when it installs. This raises the question of how Java 3D can possibly run in a browser. Is it possible to run Java 3D in a browser (or starting from a browser, I suppose) without having the user have to accept some dangerous-looking security dialog? If so, how, and why is that possible? Couldn't DLLs and the like contain arbitrary code?
        • 1. Re: Java 3D and Security
          cronosprime1 wrote:
          ..Is it possible to run Java 3D in a browser (or starting from a browser, I suppose)..
          Sure.
          1) Embedded JNLP applet.
          2) Free floating JWS app.
          .. without having the user have to accept some dangerous-looking security dialog?..
          Define 'dangerous looking'.
          ..If so, how, and why is that possible? Couldn't DLLs and the like contain arbitrary code?
          Sand-boxed apps. can contain 'arbitrary' code.
          • 2. Re: Java 3D and Security
            Could you explain to me how sandboxed apps can contain arbitrary code? How does that make them sandboxed? How is it possible for an app to be secure without having restrictions on what code can be run?

And so it isn't possible to run Java 3D from a browser without the user (assuming the user already has Java Web Start) having to click Accept on some security dialog?
            • 3. Re: Java 3D and Security
              cronosprime1 wrote:
              Could you explain to me how sandboxed apps can contain arbitrary code?
              Taking the meaning of arbitrary as: "Determined by chance, whim, or impulse, and not by necessity, reason, or principle". In this sense, 'arbitrary' does not mean 'insecure' or 'virus' or anything like that, but something much more benign. ;)
              • 4. Re: Java 3D and Security