2 Replies Latest reply: Feb 2, 2010 8:07 AM by 843810 RSS

Format for Helpset file URL

I'm running on windows Windows XP.

I'm new to Javahelp and I downloaded a simple demo app (source at the end of this post).

I set up an Eclipse project and got the sample to compile fine.

I placed the help files in the parent of the folder where my compiled class resides. I started
      the app and the help viewer displayed just fine.

I then moved the help files to another location, and changed the URL to point to the new location as follows:
      URL url = HelpSet.findHelpSet(cl, "file://D:/D_ProgramFiles/JavaHelp/MyStuff/jhelpset.hs");
      This time a null pointer exception occurred and my debugger showed the "url" variable to be null.
      I also tried the following with no success:
      URL url = HelpSet.findHelpSet(cl, "file://localhost/D|/D_ProgramFiles/JavaHelp/MyStuff/jhelpset.hs");
      URL url = HelpSet.findHelpSet(cl, "file:///D|/D_ProgramFiles/JavaHelp/MyStuff/jhelpset.hs");
      URL url = HelpSet.findHelpSet(cl, "file://localhost/D:/D_ProgramFiles/JavaHelp/MyStuff/jhelpset.hs");
      URL url = HelpSet.findHelpSet(cl, "file:///D:/D_ProgramFiles/JavaHelp/MyStuff/jhelpset.hs");
      What format should i use?

Thanks.

Sample App:
      import javax.help.*;
      import java.net.URL;
      import javax.swing.*;
      public class JavaHelpTest {
         public static void main(String args[]) {
            JHelp helpViewer = null;
            try {
               // Get the classloader of this class.
                 ClassLoader cl = JavaHelpTest.class.getClassLoader();
               // Use the findHelpSet method of HelpSet to create a URL referencing the helpset file.
               // Note that in this example the location of the helpset is implied as being in the same
               // directory as the program by specifying "jhelpset.hs" without any directory prefix,
               // this should be adjusted to suit the implementation.