11 Replies Latest reply: Jun 18, 2010 2:49 PM by 843810 RSS

Kerberos TGT From Memory

I am rather new to Kerberos. Our workstations when logging in already have a TGT stored in memory.

I have been trying to find a way to pull this information from the memory cache. Is this even possible? If so, where should I begin?

Thanks!
        • 1. Re: Kerberos TGT From Memory
          The Java Krb5LoginModule allows to use the native in-memory Kerberos ticket.

For details refer to the Java GSS programming guide:
          http://java.sun.com/javase/6/docs/technotes/guides/security/jgss/lab/index.html

Seema
          • 2. Re: Kerberos TGT From Memory
            Thanks for the quick reply.
            • 3. Re: Kerberos TGT From Memory
              I'm still doing something wrong. I have a simple login setup to authenticate. However, it is still prompting for my password.

I got this error:

Kerberos password for <principal>: <password>
              Authentication failed:
              Pre-authentication information was invalid (24) - PREAUTH_FAILED

In my client config
              com.sun.security.auth.module.Krb5LoginModule required
              useTicketCache=true
              principal="<principal>";

I can add doNotPrompt=true

then I get:
              Authentication failed:
              Unable to obtain password from user

Message was edited by:
              jjhusa01
              • 4. Re: Kerberos TGT From Memory
                Here is my debug

Debug is true storeKey false useTicketCache true useKeyTab false doNotPrompt true ticketCache is isInitiator true KeyTab is null refreshKrb5Config is false principal is <principal> tryFirstPass is false useFirstPass is false storePass is false clearPass is false
                Acquire TGT from Cache
                Principal is <principal>
                null credentials from Ticket Cache
                          [Krb5LoginModule] authentication failed

Authentication failed: