14 Replies Latest reply: Oct 6, 2010 6:07 AM by 803092 RSS

Which framework(s)/tool(s) for a web 2.0 application ?

Hello,

I'm new to Java, so excuse my stupid questions...

I have to port a win32 GUI application to a web application using Java. The original application is not written with Java and is a full blown multitier win32 GUI application accessing a SQL server database.

There are some requirement for the new application:
      1) has to use opensource tools and frameworks
      2) has to use JBoss application server
      3) has to use eclipse for development
      4) have a user interface as close as possible to the win32 application
      5) has to use the same (mssql) database

The question is: which frameworks/tools is best to use in that environment ? JSP, JSF, RichFaces, Spring, Seam, Hibernate, Struts to name a few...

Regards,
      --
      F. Piette
        • 1. Re: Which framework(s)/tool(s) for a web 2.0 application ?
          gimbal2
          I would look into Google Web toolkit (GWT) if I were you, given your GUI demands. Just don't think you can port a client side GUI to a web gui and have all the same functionality / look & feel; I'd first get a basic feel for what a web environment really is before you start to say yes to requirements that may well cause you to go into excessive failure hours.
          • 2. Re: Which framework(s)/tool(s) for a web 2.0 application ?
            Hello Gimbal2,

Thanks for your suggestion. As far as I can see, GWT makes application to run on Google servers. This doesn't fulfill the requirement of using JBoss application server.

FYI, I'm an experienced web application developer, but not using Java. I know what can be done as UI for a web application. That is not my problem.