This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Oct 14, 2010 1:12 PM by TechMahi.com RSS

How to connect to internet using wireless modem in Oracle Linux

TechMahi.com Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I am new to Linux. First of all I am not sure whether Oracle Linux can be used as a full fledged Linux OS (means basic things like connecting net/develop java related applications. .etc.). I installed latest release i.e. 5.5. of Oracle Linux and when I tried to follow the method mentioned in page ->http://thejeshgn.com/2008/01/12/reliance-netconnect-usb-card-on-linux-howto/ to connect internet, I got error message stating unknown command for modprobe. I was trying this as root. Like this few more commands are not recognised. Can some one tell me is this Oracle Linux is a real Lunux operating system? Or just a prototype of OS?

Well my actual problem is inspite of several attempt made to connect internet by tweeking /etc/wvdial.conf, I have no result. Can some one tell me exact steps to be followed to connect to Rel Netconnect in Oracle Linux. Or its not possible?
Please help me.

Thank you.
Mahi.

Edited by: TechMahi.com on Oct 6, 2010 3:00 AM
  • 1. Re: How to connect to internet using wireless modem in Oracle Linux
    BillyVerreynne Oracle ACE
    TechMahi.com wrote:

Can some one tell me is this Oracle Linux is a real Lunux operating system? Or just a prototype of OS?
    There are many different Linux distros (distrubutions). Some specifically for Netbooks. Some specifically for Desktops. Some specifically for the Server Environment and Clustering.

OEL is a server distro. Contains cluster support and so on.

What makes you think it should pretend to be a notebook/laptop distro and support your wireless modem? Where did it state in the download page and download and installation notes that it supports notebooks/laptops?
  • 2. Re: How to connect to internet using wireless modem in Oracle Linux
    TechMahi.com Newbie
    Billy ¨