This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Dec 13, 2009 12:34 PM by 843829 RSS

Compilation decision

843829 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
(Context: I'm new to Java, not to development)

I would like to have my frequently-executed code in a long-running enumeration/calculation application compiled and to have methods inlined. I can't seem to achieve this except in cases that are unpredictable (to me). I am running jre 5.0.90.3 on WinXP, with switches -server -XX:MaxInlineSize=999999 -XX:FreqInlineSize=999999 -XX:CompileThreshold=1000 -XX:+PrintCompilation.

Some methods are executed hundreds of millions of times and not mentioned by PrintCompilation. By stumbling around in the dark I have formed a theory that method size is a compilation criterion. I don't understand the relationship between compilation and inlining, e.g., can a compiled method be inlined into another compiled method? I would love to see pseudocode for the jvm's compilation decision. In case it would help: assume final/static methods.

Much more generally, I lack understanding of why comprehensive compilation of large portions of my code is not (as far as I know) an option. In the case of this application and subsequent ones in the endeavor (akin to scientific research) it would be perfectly acceptable to have the jvm spend "a lot" of time at the start of a run doing compilation.

All enlightenment appreciated!
  • 1. Re: Compilation decision
    843829 Newbie
    I've found -Xcomp. But I'm still not seeing my frequently-called methods mentioned by -XX:+PrintCompilation. Could it be because they're being inlined? I was using
    -XX:MaxInlineSize=999999 -XX:FreqInlineSize=999999
    but now I'll experiment further.

It would be helpful to know the relation between compiling and inlining.
  • 2. Re: Compilation decision
    843829 Newbie
    -XX:MaxInlineSize=10 -XX:FreqInlineSize=10
    causes the aforementioned frequently-called methods to be shown by -XX:+PrintCompilation.