3 Replies Latest reply: Aug 27, 2009 6:51 AM by jduprez RSS

Implementation of Nearest-neighbour algorithm (single machine schedueling)

Hi,

I am a student business engineering and I have to write a program to solve a 'single machine schedueling problem with seqeunce dependent setup-times'. I have written the code but I still have some problems that I can't solve. I don't know what to do anymore and my due-date is coming closer and closer so I would be EXTREMELY gratefull if somebody could help me out a little... (it is probably not that hard for an experienced programmer but it takes a while to explain the problem)

What we get is this: a certain number of jobs (nrJobs), a matrix with the process time of each job (processTime[]), a matrix with the inital setup times for each job (initSetupTime[]) and finally a 2 dimensional matrix with the setuptimes between all jobs (setupTime[][]; for example, on place [2][4] of the matrix is the setup time that is needed to prepare job 5 after we have finished job 3). Something like this:

i/j      1      2      3      4      …      n -> the number of the jobs
      0      s01 s02      s03 s04           s0n -> the initial setup time for each job
      1 0      s12      s13      s14 s1n }
      2      s21      0      s23      s24           s2n }
      3      s31      s32      0      s34           s3n } -> the setup time for job 'j' after job 'i' has been executed
      4      s41      s42      s43      0           s4n }
      …      }
      n      sn1 sn2 sn3      sn4           0 }

Now we have to find the sequence of jobs that will execute all jobs in the shortest make span. We use an adaption of the nearest neighbour algorithm:
      - We start with job 1
      - We search the job that has the shortest setup time after job 1 (job x)
      - We search the job that has the shortest setup time after job x (job y)