This discussion is archived
6 Replies Latest reply: Jun 30, 2010 4:05 PM by 843853 RSS

[PROJECT] Java MMORPG Development

843853 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I've been a Java programmer hobbyist for quite a while, and have written several small games, and after a little thought, I realised that small games had lost their appeal and I wanted to shoot for the stars!

So... I've come up with the great idea of creating an MMORPG in the Java programming language! It's already been started, although progress will speed up when more people have joined the team.

Project Details

Game Name: Days of Destiny

Concept: A 2D MMORPG. The outer world (eg. travelling, chatting, etc) will be a bit like the world in Pokemon (tiles, 1 step per tile, yada yada ya) while things like combat will be more arcade-themed (fast paced, skill-dependent combat - although weapons/armour will obviously still play a part. maybe a bit like Street Fighter or Super Smash Bros Brawl?)

Setting: In a post-apocalyptic world, but with super-advanced technology instead of being blasted back into the stone age by the apocalypse, so kind of like a super-modern setting? (and as for how there's technology after an apocalypse: maybe some awesome techno-center was saved from the blast or something like that?)

Storyline: Haven't started thinking about this yet. But I'm sure it won't be too hard to come up with something awesome.

Programming Language: Java (duh!)

Dependencies:
Client-side: Slick/LWJGL (http://slick.cokeandcode.com/ / http://www.lwjgl.org/), TWL for the GUI (http://twl.l33tlabs.org/), TilED for world (http://www.mapeditor.org/)
Server-side: MySQL for database storage (http://www.mysql.com/)
Networking: Not sure yet, possibly Apache MINA or just java NIO's Sockets

So... basically I'm here to ask if any of you are interested in joining this project?

Requirements: