This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply: May 21, 2010 10:22 AM by 843853 RSS

Basic Game Design

843853 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm pretty new to Java programming (and programming in general), but I understand the basics pretty well. As practice (no current plans to publish) I've been designing some basic rpg-type games, and I seem to be running into the same basic design problems no matter what the game is.

First, is there any guideline as to making multiple categories of a particular type of object? For example, creating many species of dog, or many types of enemies. Is it best to make an abstract base class (dog) and make a subclass for each category (species in this case)? Or is there a better way?

Also, what is the best way to handle an event like a battle or a race? Should it be an object? If so, would it be better to have a base class? Like an abstract class Competition and subclasses Race, Frisbee, etc.? Or should methods be built into the code for a JPanel object? Or a competition interface?

If there's already a tutorial on this somewhere, please let me know. As I said, I'm new, but I catch on quick. Thanks
  • 1. Re: Basic Game Design
    796262 Newbie
    mattrob wrote:
    First, is there any guideline as to making multiple categories of a particular type of object? For example, creating many species of dog, or many types of enemies. Is it best to make an abstract base class (dog) and make a subclass for each category (species in this case)? Or is there a better way?
    That seems reasonable. If the abstract class contains only abstract methods, then you might consider making it an interface instead.
    Also, what is the best way to handle an event like a battle or a race?
    Depends on what you're doing, and how this fits into your head.
    Should it be an object?