3 Replies Latest reply: Nov 25, 2009 10:47 AM by 796262 RSS

How do i remove an Object (aliens/ bullets) from my Space Invaders game??

Creating Space Invaders game and im getting confused on removing objects from my game. How do you actually remove an object (i.e bullets and aliens).

I know this isnt the right way to do it, but for the bullets i had an array of the Objects bullets[] and set the x and y coordinates off screen so u cant see then wen they are painted you cant see them, then wen the player fires them, the x and y coordinates change so they come from the players ship till it hits an alien or goes off screen, then i reset the coordinates so they are pasted off screen again. Im relatively new to this so i would appreciate any help. Im going to have to do the same with aliens wen a collision is detected. Is there a way of actually removing an object?

Here is sum code incase you need to see it:
      public void checkCollision()
           {
                Rectangle playerRec = new Rectangle(player1.getBoundingBox());

for(int i=0; i<alienRow; i++)
                     for(int j=0; j<alienCol; j++){
                     {
                          if(playerRec.intersects(aliens[i][j].getBoundingBox()))
                          {
                               collisionDetected();
                          }
                          for(int k=0; k<bulletNum; k++){
                               Rectangle bulletRec = new Rectangle(bullets[k].getBoundingBox());
                               if(bulletRec.intersects(aliens[i][j].getBoundingBox()))
                               {
                                    removeBullet(bullets[k]);
                                    collisionDetected();
                               }
                          }
                     }
                }
           }
           public static void collisionDetected()
           {
                System.out.println("COLLISION");
           }