This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply: Sep 6, 2010 10:27 AM by 843849 RSS

Beginner Guide for developing GUI for Pocket PC

843849 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi all,

I have been developing Advanced Swing GUI for seven years now.
The time has come to write some to Pocket PC, and it doesn't look good.

I've searched the net for a mere beginners-guide and found nothing
there is no single A-to-Z tutorial which will tell you what to download and how to write you first program.

I am offering 15 Duke dollars for the kind member that will be kind enough to write a short "idiot's guide for writing a little gui app for pocket pc" post, including exactly what to download, how to configure, and what to write.

Such post would help me and the rest greatly

Thank you very much

Eyal Katz
  • 1. Re: Beginner Guide for developing GUI for Pocket PC
    843849 Newbie
    Coming from a swing background, you would be better off with a CDC implementation rather than a MIDP one.

CDC will give you awt, which has basic versions of many of the swing components, the major two missing in my book are JTable and JTree, however awt versions of these can be sourced on the web.

IBM have a free trial of their CDC VM called J9, for Pocket PC... it's a good starting point.

Download;
    http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/download/search.jsp?go=y&rs=weme&S_PKG=dl61

There is nothing really different about using CDC and Swing apps really, where as MIDP is a little different.

If you really want Swing then you can have this on Pocket PC too.

NSI com have a Java VM for pocket PC, which has swing as an addonal package;

Download;
    http://www14.software.ibm.com/webapp/download/search.jsp?go=y&rs=weme&S_PKG=dl61

There CDC is based on version 1.0 of Personal Profile, where as IBM's is based on 1.1 but they don't have Swing... so you'll have to decide there.