This discussion is archived
11 Replies Latest reply: Oct 20, 2008 6:00 AM by 843849 RSS

Is .jar file all I need on PDA?

843849 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi,
Im a final year i.t student and im writing a simple program to be implemented on an iPaq PDA. I have some experience in java but none in PDA's. I have downloaded and installed Creme onto the PDA and i have the cube demo working.
My question is how to run my own applications. I have written a simple temperature conversion program as a test and exported it to a .jar file in eclipse. However this will not run on the PDA. Is there anything else i have to include along with the .jar file or is my problem somewhere else.

I would appreciate any advice that you could give me.
Thanks in advance
Shnanl
  • 1. Re: Is .jar file all I need on PDA?
    843849 Newbie
    Sorry friend , why you dont give us more information about your problem, so maybe i can help you.
    First of all, your GUI is written in Swing?
    If it is a simple program why are using Creme?
    Give me more information, and then maybe i call help you to go further!
  • 2. Re: Is .jar file all I need on PDA?
    843849 Newbie
    Hi thanks for your reply. I had thought i had to use a vm like creme to run a java application on a pda? Is there another way?
    My code is below for a simple test program im trying to run:

import javax.swing.JOptionPane;

public class tempConverter
    {
         public static void main(String[] args)
         {
              double celsius, fahrenheit;
              String celsiusStr;

// Getting user to input the temperature they want to convert
              celsiusStr = JOptionPane.showInputDialog("Enter the temperature (in celsius) you wish to convert:");
              celsius = Double.parseDouble(celsiusStr);

// Performing the conversion
              fahrenheit = ((celsius*9)/5)+32;

//Displaying the result
              JOptionPane.showMessageDialog(null, "The temperature in fahrenheit is:" + fahrenheit);