5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 10, 2008 11:20 PM by 843851 RSS

database in j2me

Hi. i'm new in j2me.
      im working in a project with j2me and i have to use a lot of information.

I don't know how can i create database files and put them in a palm device.

help me plz.
      thanx.
        • 1. Re: database in j2me
          why do not try with the class RecordStore from javax.microedition.rms package?
          • 2. Re: database in j2me
            The problem is that i have the information in a external database and i have to put them in the palm..
            • 3. Re: database in j2me
              I use DB4O, Database for Objects, (www.db4o.com). It has a small footprint and uses query by example to retrieve objects from the db.

If you want to have a relational database, I would recommend Pointbase (www.pointbase.com).
              The disadvantage is that you have to create all your tables by SQL-Statements.
              In DB4O you just put the object in the container.

Hope this helps...

Louis
              • 4. Re: database in j2me
                You've got more options now: www.openbasemovil.org and www.basemovil.com
                BaseMovil has a relational database engine with an easy to use JDBC-like API, an probably some SQL support in the future.
                It can store hundreds of thousands of rows, it has no built-in limits.
                But the best of it is that you have a lot more tools than just the database:
                - Basic things like compression, encryption, floating point support for CLDC1.0, serialization/deserialization, an MVC framework, and more.