12 Replies Latest reply: Oct 20, 2010 2:28 PM by 796367 RSS

How to get start with design patterns?

Hello All,

I am a Java programmer and recently started looking at what design patters are. I started with Gang of Four and kept it aside after reading around 30 pages as felt very high level and then took Head First Design Patterns and stopped reading it after looking at initial chapters. This is because though I was able to follow from the implementation but could not really think in the real time usage this could be because I was never into designing.

Did I pick up the good books or should I pick up any other one? Some one please help me.

Thanks,
      Kiran

Edited by: Kiran M on Oct 2, 2010 8:11 PM
        • 1. Re: How to get start with design patterns?
          jduprez
          I'm not sure either book is guilty.
          The first time I read the GoF's book, I was immediately hooked and turned on - and believe me, the French translation is the densest litteracy I've ever read!
          Probably because half of the book treated problems I had already met, presented solutions I had never thought of, or that I had approached but not analyzed, or that I hadn't theorized,... and most of the other half described problems I had not yet met, but seemed likely to be traversed one day or the other.
          In other words, it probably takes experience (preferrably painful experience) to appreciate this book :o)

That being said, my own journey to understanding patterns started with Bruce Eckel's "Thinking in Java" chapter dedicated to them. Although the book is widely criticized, this chapter justified to dig the notion further. I then went to discover the C2 Wiki (nowadays probably a bit to rich to be leveraged by a beginner), which convinced me further that I needed to buy and erad the GoF's bible.

Then I started hanging around (mostly reading), on the "OO Design and pattern" forums. So, you're probably on right tracks already. Keep digging, and much luck.