This discussion is archived
1 2 Previous Next 20 Replies Latest reply: Sep 19, 2010 3:34 PM by 807557 RSS

Real Time on Ubuntu 10.04..It's my procedure ok?

807557 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
I'm an Italian student and I'm a beginner in java's Real Time context. I've installed on Ubuntu 10.04 the package "linux-image-rt " , a simply version of Netbeans with JDK 1.6.0_20 and the java_rts-2_2 and renamed the libcap2.so as libcap1 . As your guide suggest http://download.oracle.com/javase/realtime/doc_2.2/release/JavaRTSQuickStart.html I've modified the limit.conf file (each line WITHOUT the # before ) : the installation goes well because tipyng java -version I read "Java Real Time System HotSpot Client VM" . I've compiled and run my code with the instruction indicated in http://download.oracle.com/javase/realtime/doc_2.2/release/JavaRTSQuickStart.html#step6 and the example-code works fine .I've omitted something? When I programmed in RTAI , during the execution of RealTime code the computer were totally blocked ; however when I run my Java Real Time code I can move the mouse , close the shell etc.. It's all ok?Please help me,I'm disperate =)
  • 1. Re: Real Time on Ubuntu 10.04..It's my procedure ok?
    807557 Newbie
    If your real-time Java code would consume all available processors and runs at a real-time priority greater than the services that handle your mouse and shell etc then your system should "freeze" while that code executes. I know this from experience on Solaris and the RT Linux systems we support.

But I can't tell you what your linux-image-rt actually provides in terms of real-time support. You'd have to ask the folks that provide it.

Can you run top in another terminal window and see if your program is really running with real-time priorities? Are you sure it would consume all the available CPU?

David Holmes
    Oracle
  • 2. Re: Real Time on Ubuntu 10.04..It's my procedure ok?
    807557 Newbie