5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 18, 2008 7:20 AM by 807557 RSS

J2SE with some RTSJ features

Hello! I'm new to RTSJ but I've been working on Java for many years now. I'd like to know if there are any plans to provide some of the very same features available in RTSJ in standard Java? High-end (non-real time) Java servers might not need the hard real-time scheduling, but some of the other memory management features look very useful even for J2SE apps. Somehow it feels good to have more control over memory allocation.

Do these real-time JVMs have to run on special OS Kernels? Won't they run on regular Kernels?

Are there any plans for a Windows version?

How come these JVMs are not free? :-) Can we expect a free version sometime in the near future?

Sorry, that's a long list of questions. Thanks anyway.

Ashwin.
        • 1. Re: J2SE with some RTSJ features
          Ashwin.Jayaprakash wrote:
          Hello! I'm new to RTSJ but I've been working on Java for many years now. I'd like to know if there are any plans to provide some of the very same features available in RTSJ in standard Java?
          Well we're always looking at how our technology might get shared across products. ;-) But many of the RTSJ features tend to group together - one in all in.

What in particular do you think might work in Java SE ?
          Do these real-time JVMs have to run on special OS Kernels? Won't they run on regular Kernels?
          I assume you mean "linux" when you say "OS kernels" because we don't need a special Solaris :) The Linux distribution must support the real-time POSIX extensions for Java RTS to run. In theory any linux kernel can do so, but only the real-time kernels will actually enable the enhanced determinsm and predictability that you would want from Java RTS.
          Are there any plans for a Windows version?