5 Replies Latest reply: May 18, 2010 9:52 AM by 807559 RSS

Command Line Args > 80 chars

HI All,

Apologies up front I'm new to Dtrace and am a Oracle DBA by trade so D is a bit new to me....

I have a problem in which I need to find all command with args executed following a failure of a network interface in the grid infrastructure. I downloaded Brendan Gregg's DTrace toolkit and this was just the ticket, so I managed to get all the commands being executed using execsnoop.

However the action printf("%s\n", curpsinfo->pr_psargs); is truncated to 80 chars and I need > 80 chars. I read that this could be achieved using stop, pargs and start, but have no idea how to put this together (tho am gonna try!).

Was hoping someone had done this already and was willing to help.

Thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: Command Line Args > 80 chars
          wow this D trace stuff f*&%in rocks. Took me longer to write my initial email. Anyway, solved my own problem quickly:

/usr/sbin/dtrace -wn '
          #pragma D option quiet
          #pragma D option switchrate=10

syscall::exec:return, syscall::exece:return
          /uid == 900/
          system("pargs %d", pid);
          system("prun %d", pid);
          it did seem to have an adverse effect on my test system, clearly those destructive actions are not meant for a beginner like me. Ah well I got the info I required.

Would be interested to see more intelligent solutions tho if anybody has any.
          • 2. Re: Command Line Args > 80 chars
            Wow. You learn fast. Good work! The following might explain the behavior you suggested wasn't so good.