1 Reply Latest reply: Jan 18, 2010 2:27 PM by 807559 RSS

umod,ufunc,usym not working

Hi,

I am new to dtrace so please have some patience.

I am trying to use the ufunc function to get the function of the user process that was running before the probe fired:
      #!/usr/sbin/dtrace -s

/* Prints the function and offset of the instruction of process running prior to probe firing*/
      profile:::tick-10s
      /arg1!=NULL/
      {
      printf(" %A\n", ufunc(arg1));
      }
      The reasoning being arg1 is the PC of the process (if it was a user process) that was interrupted. However I get a compile error:
      dtrace: failed to compile script /tmp/rs: line 7: tracing function ufunc( ) may not be called from a D expression

On searching the internet I get the following warning about umod & ufunc:
      "these are _action_ not _subroutines_. As such, they _cannot_ be used in D expressions"
      What does this mean?

An example which is quoted is
      @[umod(arg1)] = count();

which I interpret to mean an aggregation (unamed) where the key is umod(arg1) which is the module being run.
      Which surely means that umod has to be run to get the "key"? Can someone please explain this to me why umod/ufunc are not subroutines/functions then?

Additionally, can I get the name of the module being run from a pid and use the inline definitons in /usr/lib/dtrace/procfs.d?

Thanks for any help
        • 1. Re: umod,ufunc,usym not working
          You can think of a D expression as something that can be resolved to a value "where it stands." For example, "timestamp" is an expression that generalizes the value one needs at the point it is invoked.