2 Replies Latest reply: Aug 1, 2009 6:07 AM by 807574 RSS

Portal Server 7, WebSpace Server, Liferay - What's the difference

Hi Forum

I am relatively new to Sun and the related technologies and am trying to understand the difference between the main technology offerings. The myriad of information available makes it bit confusing to understand the differences between the various portal offerings and does not clearly indicate which one superseded the other if the case.

1. Are Portal Server and WebSpace Server the same or are these total different applications?
      2. How does WebSpace Server differ from Liferay? (I understand this originated from Web Synergy / Open Portal / Liferay but am not sure what the differences are between the technologies, if any)
      3. What are the benefits to go with WebSpace Server oppose to using the Liferay builds?
      4. If I choose to use WebSpace Server, would I loose out on any Liferay functionality?
        • 1. Re: Portal Server 7, WebSpace Server, Liferay - What's the difference
          there is a huge difference between Sun Portal Server 7.1/7.2 and webspace/liferay, sun portal 7.1/7.2 is tightly integrated with Sun Java Systems Access manager and Ldap directory server whereas with Webspace and Liferay you do not need any of these components to save configuration and user information. The thing is that Sun Portal Server 7.1/7.2 have another component called Secure remote access to access internal compnay information securely which does not exist in webspace or Liferay. Webspace/Liferay make use of a database to save user and role information. Though you can use Sun Access Manager (now called opensso) in Webspace or Liferay for single sign-on.

Webspace originated from liferay there is not much of a difference except for configuration files.

regards
          • 2. Re: Portal Server 7, WebSpace Server, Liferay - What's the difference
            Hi Mufasa

Thanks for the clarification.