This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Sep 6, 2010 1:58 AM by 807578 RSS

Bash shell breaking JDS/CDE login operation?

807578 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello all,

I am very new to the Solaris OS, Sun machines and JDS. I recently installed Solaris 10 on a Sun v240 that I got off of ebay and was also able to install an XVR-100 graphics card. Took me quite a while to figure out but I now seem to have it working perfectly...that is until...

Just tonight I added the following to my .profile because I prefer the bash shell to the default shell:
# Switch to dynamically linked bash shell if it exists, otherwise
# stay in statically linked '/sbin/sh'.
if [ -x /usr/bin/bash ]; then
  SHELL=/usr/bin/bash
  export SHELL
  exec /usr/bin/bash
else
  echo /usr/bin/bash not found using default shell of $SHELL
fi
The above is the only thing in my .profile file. However, after adding this I was no longer able to login to JDS or CDE at all. I would get the login screen no problem but when I actually attempted to login the login screen would go away, the screen would flash a couple of time, then the login screen would reappear like nothing ever happened.

Fortunately I remembered that I had modified the .profile file and I moved it to .profile.bak. I then tried to login again and it worked fine - no problems whatsoever.

I checked the ~/.dt/startlog file for a login attempt both with and without the .profile file existing. When the .profile did exist with contents shown above I get the following:
(snip)
--- starting desktop on /dev/pts/2
Sun Microsystems Inc.   SunOS 5.10      Generic January 2005
/usr/dt/bin/Xsession[788]: 1135 Hangup
X connection to :0.0 broken (explicit kill or server shutdown).
When I moved the .profile to .profile.bak I get the following:
(snip)
--- starting desktop on /dev/pts/2
Sun Microsystems Inc.   SunOS 5.10      Generic January 2005
Java Accessibility Bridge for GNOME loaded.