1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply: Jun 11, 2010 11:50 PM by 807580 RSS

messing with strings

I'm very new to java and am working on my first Android app. I am using the webview demo as a template. I am trying to generate a random integer between 1 and 12 and then call a certain javascript function based on the result. Here's what I have:
      int number = 1 + (int)(Math.random() * ((12 - 1) + 1));
                          number = (int) Math.floor(number);
                       String nextQuote = "javascript:wave" + number + "()";
                       mWebView.loadUrl(nextQuote);
      So
      mWebView.loadUrl(nextQuote)
      will be the same as something like
       mWebView.loadUrl("javascript:wave1()")
      I just want to know if what I have here is correct and will work the way I think it will. The application isn't responding as expected and I suspect this bit of code is the culprit.
        • 1. Re: messing with strings
          You might want to ask on an Android forum. Android's Java isn't standard Java as owned/run by Oracle/Sun.
          • 2. Re: messing with strings
            aloishis89 wrote:
            int number = 1 + (int)(Math.random() * ((12 - 1) + 1));
            number = (int) Math.floor(number);
            Change the above to this,
            int number = (int)(Math.random() * 12.0) + 1;
            It will first produce an int between 0 and 11 and then 1 is added.
            • 3. Re: messing with strings
              double post by mistake
              • 4. Re: messing with strings
                YoungWinston
                wastrel wrote:
                Change the above to this,
                int number = (int)(Math.random() * 12.0) + 1;
                An alternative is to set up a random number generator, viz:
                private static final Random RNG = new Random();
                and then from anywhere in your class you can call:
                int number = RNG.nextInt(12) + 1;