This discussion is archived
4 Replies Latest reply: Jan 11, 2005 1:15 AM by 336258 RSS

Newbie to Oracle

436038 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
My company recently installed an Oracle database and I'm trying to get my existing applications---written in both C and Applescript---to talk with it.

Being a complete newbie to Oracle and databases in general, I was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. What would be the best way for me to talk with Oracle? If I were to start learning anything, should it be Java? SQL?

Also, I built my apps in Xcode and I'm trying to avoid starting over from scratch. Is there a way to keep my existing code and still talk with Oracle?

Thanks.

Brad
  • 1. Re: Newbie to Oracle
    RonaldRood Oracle ACE
    My company recently installed an Oracle database and
    I'm trying to get my existing applications---written
    in both C and Applescript---to talk with it.

anything, should it be Java? SQL?
    Hi Brad,
    does you app use sql ? In that case the easiest will be to use jdbc to connect to the database. If it's not using sql I am afraid you are out of luck. I am no developer so I might miss something but I sure know about oracle databases.

regards,
    Ronald
    http://homepage.mac.com/ik_zelf/oracle
  • 2. Re: Newbie to Oracle
    431839 Newbie
    Hi!

I started out three years ago, developing an application in Objective-C and Xcode (it wasn't Xcode at that time) that was to talk to our existing Oracle installation. To be able to talk to Oracle, I made a small Java object, that connects via JDBC to the Oracle. All the rest of the code is in Objective-C.

If you want to follow that approach, and want to know more about how I did it, contact me: ivan at myrvold.org
  • 3. Re: Newbie to Oracle
    435428 Newbie
    string ls_objectname,ls_curcol,ls_addpic
    integer li_pic_x,li_pic_y
    long ll_row,ll_Index,ll_firstrow,ll_lastrow,ll_temp
    ls_objectname = string(dwo.name) //¶ÔÏóÃû³Æ