11 Replies Latest reply: Aug 21, 2008 10:48 AM by 800282 RSS

Converting sed regex to Java regex

I am new to reguler expressions.I have to write a regex which will do some replacements

If the input string is something like test:17038199556@test.com;value=abcd
      when I apply the regex on it,this string should be changed to test:17038199556@replaceTest.com;value=replacedABC

I am trying to replace test.com and abcd with the values i have supplied...

The regex I have come up with is in sed

s/\(^.*@\)\(.*\)$/\1replaceTest.com;value=replacedABC/i

Now I am trying to get the regex in Java,I would think it will be something like (^.*@\)(.*\)$\1replaceTest.com;value=replacedABC

But not sure How i can test this.Any idea on how to make sure my java regex is valid and does the required replacements?
        • 1. Re: Converting sed regex to Java regex
          rsv-us wrote:
          I am new to reguler expressions.I have to write a regex which will do some replacements

If the input string is something like test:17038199556@test.com;value=abcd
          when I apply the regex on it,this string should be changed to test:17038199556@replaceTest.com;value=replacedABC

I am trying to replace test.com and abcd with the values i have supplied...

Now I am trying to get the regex in Java,I would think it will be something like (^.*@\)(.*\)$\1replaceTest.com;value=replacedABC

But not sure How i can test this.Any idea on how to make sure my java regex is valid and does the required replacements?
          So, you want to replace everything that is between the '@' and the '.' and you want to replace that what comes after the '=' ? If not, then please provide more details.
          Also, have a look at String's replaceAll(...) method: the first parameter is a regex.
          • 2. Re: Converting sed regex to Java regex
            Nope,I want to replace the value after @ and till the ;