12 Replies Latest reply: Jul 2, 2008 11:40 AM by 807589 RSS

need help drawing image on a background using coordinates from a props file

What I need to do is to draw a small image on a black background using coordinates from a properties file...this is what I came up with but I get errors with compiling...im new to this kinda thing.
      public class Drawstar extends Component {
        public static void main(String args[]) {
          Drawstar props = new Drawstar();
          props.draw();
          JFrame f = new JFrame("Stars Map");

f.addWindowListener(new WindowAdapter(){
                      public void windowClosing(WindowEvent e) {
                          System.exit(0);
                      }
                  });

f.add(new Drawstar());
              f.pack();
              f.setVisible(true);
          }
      Image img;

public void draw() {
          try{
            Graphics g;
            Properties p = new Properties();
            p.load(new FileInputStream("userpos.props"));
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x1"), p.getproperty("y1"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x2"), p.getproperty("y2"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x3"), p.getproperty("y3"), null); 
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x4"), p.getproperty("y4"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x5"), p.getproperty("y5"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x6"), p.getproperty("y6"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x7"), p.getproperty("y7"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x8"), p.getproperty("y8"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x9"), p.getproperty("y9"), null);
            g.drawImage(img, p.getproperty("x10"), p.getproperty("y10"), null);
            } catch (IOException e) {
            }
          }

public Drawstar() {
             try {
                 img = ImageIO.read(new File("star.jpg"));
             } catch (IOException e) {