8 Replies Latest reply on Mar 15, 2008 9:23 AM by 807591

Simple Send File

Im fairly new to Java so go easy on me please :)

Im developing a small Java applet to run on browsers, One of the features is to enable access to a particular file on the users machine which is being saved/downloaded.

How do i have the Java applet listen for connections on port e.g. 4050 and then have the file sent?
      The file has no size as it is being actively written.

I have a hitch that this may require Java Socket but i may be wrong..

Please help!
        • 1. Re: Simple Send File
          dudelancer wrote:
          Im fairly new to Java so go easy on me please :)

Im developing a small Java applet to run on browsers, One of the features is to enable access to a particular file on the users machine which is being saved/downloaded.
          This is typically a no-no. You could potentially do file access on the user's machine if you disabled security, but most users would not be too happy about that.
          How do i have the Java applet listen for connections on port e.g. 4050 and then have the file sent?

Please help!
          What are you true requirements here? Are you sure you need an Applet in the first place?
          • 2. Re: Simple Send File
            The user is aware of everything, Its not what you may be thinking.
            And yes a applet is required!
            • 3. Re: Simple Send File
              DrClap
              dudelancer wrote:
              Does this mean the applet is downloading it? Or that something else is downloading it and the applet wants to monitor that process? Or that it has already been downloaded by something else?
              Use a ServerSocket. Presumably these connections will be coming from some other machine somewhere. As for having the file sent, does that mean the applet would be sending the file to that other machine, or that other machine would be sending the file to the applet?
              No idea what that means.