11 Replies Latest reply: Oct 8, 2007 2:19 PM by 807605 RSS

Genetic Algorithms

Hi Iam new to GA's

My Individual genome is of the form [a1,a2,a3,.....an, g11,g12,g13.....gij, h11, h12,     hij]

Search regions
      a -- 0-3
      g- 0-3.5
      h-0-1

If iam doing mutation how can i specify boundaries i.e. a1 value shouldnt not mutate with g11value and so on(Iam not clear with this)

Thanks For Help
        • 1. Re: Genetic Algorithms
          You should encapsulate the genome into a class and apply those rules inside a "mutate" method. Hide those details from clients.

%
          • 2. Re: Genetic Algorithms
            Hi Can you be little more specific. I am very new to genetic algorithms

my genome is like two vectors of size n and two n x n matrices

Thanks For Help
            • 3. Re: Genetic Algorithms
              bobby24 wrote:
              Hi Can you be little more specific. I am very new to genetic algorithms
              No, it sounds like you're new to Java. My answer has almost nothing to do with GA and everything to with object-oriented programming, encapsulation, and information hiding.

If by "more specific" you mean "post code", I can't do that. Don't have any to post even if I wanted to.

Think about what GA is and develop an interface for the methods you'd want to call for it. Since GA can generate a lot of chromasomes, maybe a factory with a cache inside would be a good idea.
              my genome is like two vectors of size n and two n x n matrices
              How interesting. The Goldberg book only shows how to do it with a vector of length n. What are the matricies for?

%
              • 4. Re: Genetic Algorithms
                Actually iam new to java also

my genome is some thing like this

|a1 g11 g12 b1 h11 h12|
                |a2 g21 g22 b2 h11 h12|
                |a3 g31 g32 b3 h11 h12|
                . . . . . .
                |an gij gik bn hij hik|