This discussion is archived
12 Replies Latest reply: Jul 12, 2006 4:42 AM by 807569 RSS

Design Patterns

807569 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hello folks,

wow - it's been a while since my last post. The last few times I hade some sort of syntax problem. This time I have a completly different question as I need an advise on programming in general.
I am currently studying CS at an University of M´┐Żnster, Germany and we are doing a software project. We are supposed to write software for an PDA during a period of one semester. This means that the project will not be too complicated and not too complex. My question to you is this: Should we try to use Design Patterns as described in the popular book "Design Patterns" (1995, Addison Wesley) or do you think that this kind of "advanced" programming should only be used in big projects?

Thank you very much for answering.

Martin
  • 1. Re: Design Patterns
    807569 Newbie
    Use design patterns. USE DESIGN PATTERNS. USE DESIGN PATTERNS.
  • 2. Re: Design Patterns
    807569 Newbie
    When is a project considered "big"? Actually I don't think size is all that matters in this case.
  • 3. Re: Design Patterns
    807569 Newbie
    Use them. Dont over-use them :) Doesn't matter if the project is big or small. Though I guess that in large projects, the chances of using one or more design patterns increases due the obvious volume of the application.
  • 4. Re: Design Patterns
    800322 Newbie
    I think you should use them - simply because it's a matter of good software design, and not of some development process. Sometimes you can't even avoid using them. If you need a singleton, then you need a singleton. You could as well be asking whether you should leave "loose coupling" to big software projects.

But use them where necessary, not simply because they exist.