1 Reply Latest reply: Nov 30, 2010 8:22 AM by jtahlborn RSS

What JMX architecture and protocol should I be using?

rupertlssmith
      Hi,

I have an application that will run many instances on many different servers, and that can provide a set of JMX beans for external management. Changes to the configuration through the JMX interface will be written back to each app instances config files. Each application instance is capable of starting from its current config, and running without the external management UI being connected.

There is a web app, that should be capable of finding all of the app instances, and through their JMX interfaces, provide the user with a list of currently running instances, and the ability to drill down and manage them, change configs, force restarts and so on.

I'm new to JMX, and feeling a little confused by the number of available protocols and ways of connecting things up. Can someone suggest a simple way to get the above working?

I know that RMI can sometimes be problematic with respect to firewalls, because it assigns service ports dynamically, and firewall admins would like a fixed port number to open. I found this example, which explains one way of getting around this problem:

http://blogs.sun.com/mock/entry/remote_monitoring_hack_for_jmx

Another possibility seems to be to use JMXMP.

I don't think I really want the rmiregistry running on each server where an app instance resides. It seems to me that the 'registry', that is, the place where the JMX beans are looked up, should reside on the same machine where the JMX console webapp is running. Each app instance, when started will know the address of that machine, and attempt to register its MBeans with it (if it fails it can start anyway, and periodically retry exposing its management interface). Then the webapp just has one place to look to find all available apps.

Possibly the registry can be embedded in the webapp too, so that a separate process does not need to be started?