10 Replies Latest reply: Jan 13, 2011 4:27 AM by user9077620 RSS

Tablespace error

user9077620
      Hi everyone,

When the procedure of DWH are running to load data to DB, it gave me this error:

ORA-01688 : unable to extend table table_name partition partition_name by 8192 in tablespace.

i am new to the system,so could anyone help me,

Regards.
      Mustafa
        • 1. Re: Tablespace error
          Cause : Failed to allocate an extent of the required number of blocks for table segment in the tablespace indicated.

There is no space to extend. So increase the tablespace size by adding datafile or by resize.

Thanks
          • 2. Re: Tablespace error
            CKPT
            ORA-01688 : unable to extend table table_name partition partition_name by 8192 in tablespace.
            Tablespace is running out of space.. please check or post compelte error message, at the end of above line you can find tablespace_name

either resize or add datafile.
            alter database datafile 'location of datafaile' resize <bigger than existing size>
            or
            alter tablespace <tablespace_name> add datafile 'location' size 1000m;
            Error:     ORA 1688
            Text:     unable to extend table %s.%s partition %s by %s in tablespace %s
            ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
            Cause:     Failed to allocate an extent for table segment in tablespace.
            Action:     Use ALTER TABLESPACE ADD DATAFILE statement to add one or more files
                 to the tablespace indicated.

Thanks
            • 3. Re: Tablespace error
              asifkabirdba
              Tablespace is out of space. Add/ Re-size datafile for this tablespace.

http://www.morganslibrary.com/reference/tablespaces.html

Regards
              Asif Kabir
              • 4. Re: Tablespace error
                dba-india
                It is not auto extending your tablespace, it is full now.