This discussion is archived
7 Replies Latest reply: Jun 3, 2013 2:01 AM by 1012415 RSS

Oracle Procedure returning Ref Cursor in Entity Framework 4

645504 Newbie
Currently Being Moderated
Hi experts,

I am very new to Entity Frame 4.0 ODP.net I am trying to get dataset from my Oracle Procedure having out parameter type Ref Cursor, in ADO.Net I did like : -

// get the OracleRefCursor from the output parameter
OracleRefCursor refcur = (OracleRefCursor)cmd.Parameters["cur_DataSet"].Value;

// get the DataReader using the OracleRefCursor
OracleDataReader dr = refcur.GetDataReader();

Now in Entity Framework I map all my tables and store procedures through wizard but store procedures showing only 'IN' parameter list, I also use 'Add function Import' to assign return type as Entity, but no luck ... please help
  • 1. Re: Oracle Procedure returning Ref Cursor in Entity Framework 4
    Christian.Shay - Oracle Pro
    Make sure that you read the ODP.NET documentation about stored procedures. There are special web.config/app.config entries you must make.

Here's the relevant section from the ODT README about Function Imports:

Steps to add a function to the Entity Model using Add Function Import Dialog

1. Generate an Entity Model from an Oracle Database. In the Entity Data Model Wizard or Update Wizard, when choosing your database objects, select some stored procedures (Oracle Stored Functions are not supported). To add function imports that return scalars, complex types, or entities, you will need to select stored procedures that return a ref cursor. Supported Stored procedures include procedures and package methods that do not have a return value, but may have OUT or IN OUT parameters. A ref cursor can be returned as an OUT or IN OUT parameter. Note: If the procedure returns multiple ref cursors, only the first one will be used as the return value.