5 Replies Latest reply: Apr 3, 2011 9:54 AM by 840096 RSS

Need Suggestion about JSP/Servlet OR JSF2.0

I am new to Java and working on it as fast as possible. Got 5+ years experience in ASP.NET C#. I have covered basics of Java and now want to jump into web development by making a project by converting one of my ASP.NET project.

I have explored Servlet/JSP and JSF2.0. Want to learn only one from them and put all my energies in it. I find JSF more robust, clean and easy to use with templating etc . I am doing all this so that I cover most of the things to complete one full project and try to find a job as starter in Java.

Now my questions

As a starter job in Java what things should I know?

Should I learn Servlet/JSP even if I am good at JSF (suppose)?

Do companies still need skills in Servlet/JSP or they are adopting JSF?

Thanks
        • 1. Re: Need Suggestion about JSP/Servlet OR JSF2.0
          Kayaman
          pirzada wrote:
          Should I learn Servlet/JSP even if I am good at JSF (suppose)?
          Servlets you basically have to, and it's a good idea to know how JSP works.
          Do companies still need skills in Servlet/JSP or they are adopting JSF?
          JSF was supposed to be a standard, but at least JSF1 was/is so horrible that I pity the fool who uses that only because of that.
          I imagine they fixed things in JSF2.0, but at least some cursory googling of the words "jsf sucks" returned an article that claimed "jsf _still_ sucks".

Also you're limiting yourself if you think that JSP and JSF are the only choices. You have dozens of different frameworks you need to at least know of, and try to get some skills in a few of them to successfully make it in the web business.

Hope this helps, or at least doesn't scare you away.
          • 2. Re: Need Suggestion about JSP/Servlet OR JSF2.0
            Thanks Kayaman for the help.
            • 3. Re: Need Suggestion about JSP/Servlet OR JSF2.0
              prateekazam