1 2 Previous Next 22 Replies Latest reply: May 25, 2011 8:57 PM by 864194 RSS

Database Recovery issue

Good evening,

Too make a long story short, on one of out servers we are running Windows 2008 Enterprise 64 bit with the Oracle 11g database. We almost lost the data but luckily the only thing that was corrupted was the OS. We reinstall the OS and the data from the database is still intact. but of course the windows registry was completely wiped out. When reinstalling the database it changed the Data drive on the server from E: to D:

I am only a Sys Admin and clearly they have me doing DBA work. What I am trying to find out is if it is possible for me to take the old database files (oradata folder, dbs, etc) and just copy then into the new 11g database. I only did the install software only since I want to see if I can copy the files over the server recognize the information. Any help would be greatly appreciated because I am clearly out of my league but willing to learn. Thank you for your help.
        • 1. Re: Database Recovery issue
          AliD
          No. Changing the path requires changing the metadata and control file. It's not hard to do but why bother? Just leave the oracle directories where they were.
          • 2. Re: Database Recovery issue
            Well I renamed the old folder and installed the new database. Since the drive lettering has changed I figure I will have to modify something because if the old files were point to E:\... and are now pointing to D:\... then I will have to modify something I just have no clue on what.
            • 3. Re: Database Recovery issue
              sb92075
              When reinstalling the database it changed the Data drive on the server from E: to D:
              start again but this time mount the Oracle drive as D:\
              • 4. Re: Database Recovery issue
                AliD