10 Replies Latest reply: Jul 13, 2011 12:44 PM by 874081 RSS

Fresh Installation Boot Errors

I'm new to trying to work with Solaris 10, and to a lot of Solaris in general, so while I'd normally be happy to do a lot of reading (and have tried searching for answers on google a good deal already), I'm having a problem after a fresh installation of Solaris 10 on a Sparc T3-1 server that I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction to solve.

During the install I told the text installer I wanted to do a ZFS installation using both of my disks (only 2) in a mirrored configuration. I selected the default set of core system packages.

After the install seemed to be done and the system rebooted, I'm getting the following when it comes up:

-----

Boot device: /pci@400/pci@1/pci@0/pci@4/scsi@0/disk@w5000c5003a04f911,0:a File and args:
      SunOS Release 5.10 Version Generic_142909-17 64-bit
      Copyright (c) 1983, 2010, Oracle and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved.
      Failed to plumb IPv4 interface(s): igb0
      Jul 7 12:12:34 svc.startd[9]: svc:/network/physical:default: Method "/lib/svc/method/net-physical" failed with exit status 96.
      Jul 7 12:12:34 svc.startd[9]: network/physical:default misconfigured: transitioned to maintenance (see 'svcs -xv' for details)
      Hostname: tempdb
      Loading smf(5) service descriptions: 1/136
      WARNING: svccfg import /var/svc/manifest/application/management/sma.xml failed
      2/136
      WARNING: svccfg import /var/svc/manifest/application/management/wbem.xml failed
      3/136
      WARNING: svccfg import /var/svc/manifest/application/management/seaport.xml failed

followed by another 133 lines with similar failures, followed by:
      svccfg import warnings. See /var/svc/log/system-manifest-import:default.log .
      WARNING: svccfg apply /var/svc/profile/generic.xml failed
      WARNING: svccfg apply /var/svc/profile/platform.xml failed
      Requesting System Maintenance Mode